top of page

Snakes & Skulls

I found a drawing of this on Pinterest and thought it was magnificent, and then wondered if I could draw it too. I did, and I can't remember how much time and ordinary sign pen ink it took, but I do remember it was absolutely painful for my head, fingers, and wrists -- don't forget the back and neck. I drew this on a canvas which was far from smooth, so it made it quite harder for me to draw. It was definitely worth it, though.


When I used this as one of my drawings in display for a project at my university, a professor asked what this was, and like I told you, I told him I drew an image I found on Pinterest in 2019, and he asked me how I saw it -- what message was this artwork holding? He's a Philosophy professor, by the way.


I never thought about it. In fact, I don't really think much of the meaning of artworks until told to do so -- don't most of us do? And he asked this to me in front of a small group of people admiring my works, and like most of our species, I did not let my pride fall so easily, and thought on my feet, "What is it to me?"


"A skull and snakes."

"No flesh, only bone -- naked. A human showing his true form. Greed. Hatred. Jealousy. Forgery. All that is evil to our eyes is what these snakes symbolize. Snakes that wrap up the human, and slither from outside and even inside the skull, making it seem like evil has always been within us (I guess it is the sin Adam and Eve committed, which is believed we also have when born)."


Now, I wish it was this concise and clear when my professor did ask me, but it was slightly longer, yet I believe my words were still clear. I'm content with that.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Honey

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page